Love Your Mom.

Yesterday in my College Composition class my teacher asked myself and my fellow classmates to write a few pieces of advise we would give our past selves from four years ago. This assignment not only put a lot of things in my life into perspective but it also made me realize how much my life has changed in just four short years.

I will be graduating from high school in the next sixteen days and as my last couple of school days come to an end I can’t help but want to think through these last four years.

One long spiel I wrote in the middle of my advise to my young and naive, freshman self had to do with the most influential woman in my life…my mother. The epitome of female role models in a young girl’s life. I think sometimes we forget to truly love our mothers because they just always seem to be there. We take them for granted because it seems as though they will never leave. But oh that is not the case. As I prepare for my new venture in life (also known as college) I am beginning to realize the ramifications of my decision to leave the family nest. I have to leave my wonderful mother behind. I could not tell you the countless sacrifices each of your mothers has made for you individually but I can tell you that you probably ruined any chance of them getting their twenty’s beach bod back.

Whenever you are in the middle of one of your countless mother-daughter arguments just remember how futile they actually are and get over yourself. Your mom is probably in the right and you should just listen to her anyways. Tell her you love her for all that she does. Whether it be making you dinner or holding you while you cry about a stupid boy who did you wrong. Tell her you love her just in case no one has recently.

I can already feel the disappointment of my next four years without her. When I think back I realize how much, even all of the little things, that she has done for me. She would pack my lunchbox every morning (yes I know I am actually five years old still). She would support me in all of my endeavors whether it be my A Capella singing, playing field hockey, or getting the opportunity to be involved in my fist school musical. And she would watch sappy romance movies with me for hours on end. I cannot imagine not having her around constantly to pick me up when I’m down and embarrass me in front of all of her old friends.

Mothers are your personal cheerleader, your shoulder to cry on, and your ultimate best friend. Even if sometimes it may seem embarrassing to be that close to your mom we all love our mothers. They gave us life and raised us to be strong, independent, and successful women. That is a gift that can never be repaid.  So thank you mom for being you. Thank you for shaping me into who I am today, I am so proud to be your daughter.

So as I take the next step in my lifelong journey I will take a piece of her with me. I especially hope that her awesome care packages make their way with me to college as well. Thank you for all that you do mother, it is much appreciated.

I love you, always.

 

One thought on “Love Your Mom.

  1. Sarah, this is wonderful. As a mother I can’t tell you how happy and proud you have made your mother. She is to be commended because she raised the sweetest , most genuine, caring , independent young woman I know. Sarah, always keep that beautiful heart of yours. Big hugs, kim. And keep writing! !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

